Saturday, November 10, 2007

Paris, Pronounced Pear-ee

I suppose I should write a giant, giant post discussing every day of my trip to Paris. Betcha just can't wait.

Thursday
We woke up at 3 am, 3 FREAKING AM, and then slept on a plane on the way to Paris. When we got there, we ate at a little restaraunt and I got a free yo-yo which served as addictive entertainment throughout the trip. After that, we went to our hotel.

Our hotel room was exactly what should come to mind when you imagine a Parisian hotel room. It was so cool! It had 3 beds, one of which was a cot for Emily, and that bumpy-type wallpaper with fancy Victorian designs in pastels. The bathroom had this crazy bathtub that had a shower head just on it, so we had to sit in the tub and spray ourselves with the shower hose. We took shaths. It was not fun. But the coolest part was what lay outside the windows. You had to climb over the beds, then out the windows, and to get on this awesome fenced ledge thing, to look out at a 7-story-high view of Paris. It was so pretty, because there were a billion rooftops, and off to the left you could see the top of the Eiffel Tower! It was so pretty!

After taking a rather long nap, we went on a boat tour. It was freezing, but we saw the lovely Eiffel Tower, the Louvre, and Notre Dame, not to mention the bottom of around 8 bridges. Everytime we went under a bridge, everyone started, like, howling. It was very bizarre.


Friday
The first truly important thing that we did was go to some catycombs. It was SO COOL because you walked down this GIANT thing of spiraly stairs, then walked in an extensively long underground tunnel. Then basically you entered the hall of bones, and walked in some more extensively long underground tunnels, except these had walls of bones and skulls. There were MILLIONS of them, literally! Apparently each wall of neatly stacked human bones went back 20 feet... That's quite a few historical Parisian people.

After that, we went to Musee De O'rsay. I know I put the accent mark in the wrong place and didn't accent an e in Musee, but I don't care. There were all these paintings that were completely famous, a lot of which I learned about just last year. There was a ton of Van Gogh, Edward Degas, etc. It was just awesome to see all the paintings I'd seen printed in textbooks and hanging on Ms. Hensil's chalkboards so many times.

Then, because we were all weak with hunger, I ate the prettiest tuna sandwich I've ever seen. Then we went to Notre Dame, which was darn gorgeous. We went in while there was a service going on, so there was some pretty choir singing, and candles everywhere. Also it was just a really pretty building.

Ok, the rest of Friday was just crepes and pocket watches, so screw that.



Saturday
First and foremost was the trip to the Musee de Louvre. We spent quite a few hours there. It was aboslutely giant, and most of it didn't even matter... The only really cool part was seeing the Mona Lisa. It was under super-high security; you could only get about 5 feet away from it, and even then it was behind glass, and had some security guards. We thought taking pictures would be illegal, but indeed it was not.

Then, we went to this really cool area and went on a ferris wheel. It was really tall... Emily and I sat in a car-ish thing with a very Parisian woman. I don't know what it was about her... her lipstick, her coat, her curly hair... but something about her made her very French. She spoke good English, though, because she used the phrase "came to a halt", and was fun to sit with.

I'm not positive, but I think the next place we went was the Eiffel Tower. I might have skipped something, but I don't really care.

The elevator ride up the Eiffel Tower was really freaky. We stood by the windows and watched on the way down, and I was honestly pretty scared. I was reassured by the hooks that catch the elevator if it happens to break, though. The view was pretty much insane. We could see pretty much every notable building, like Notre Dame and the Louvre. It was also pretty freezing up there. And, this is probably the weirdest thing I'll ever call cool in my life, but people from all over the world signed the door of the stall in the bathroom up there! It was awesome!
At about eleven o'clock, we got on a train to Disneyland. We were all exhausted by the time we finally got there, but I was literally jumping for joy. I LOVE Disneyland. It's almost impossible to be sad there. And we got to stay at this cute pirate hotel with a seperate room with a tv and bunk beds for Emily and I. It was awesome.

Sunday
Disneyland day! Yay! First we went to the MGM Studios-like park, which had all of the popular rides from MGM Studios in Disney World. My mom and I were utterly excited for the world's greatest ride, the Tower of Terror (google it) which we saw poking up above everything else. We were SO HAPPY that they had it. As we were walking over, I said "it's probably going to closed or something". And, with our awesome luck, indeed it was. It wasn't even fully built yet. Dude, we were sad.

So, we went on the next-best thing. It's called Rock n' Rollercoaster and it's this REALLY FUN dark rollercoaster that has Aerosmith playing the whole time. It's AWESOME.

After doing some more less important stuff there, we went to the Magic Kingdom, which too was a collection of the more popular Magic Kingdom rides. We had only 3 hours there, so we had to pick the best; we chose the Haunted Mansion (there called the Phantom Manor), Pirates of the Carribean, Buzz Lightyear, and... I can't think of the name. The Haunted Mansion was awesome in it's creepy way, but it was way different than the American version. The type of "silly scariness" was a lot more European... skeletons and stuff everywhere instead of ghosts and whatnot. It was sad that it wasn't the original that I've learned to love, but at at least my favorite room, the one with all the holograms dancing and eating, was the same. POTC was basically exactly the same as the American version, because apparently they haven't redone it to match the movie yet. It was funny, though, because all the pirates spoke French XD. Buzz Lightyear, despite what you make assume, is one of the most fun rides in the world. It's that shooting-type ride, where you have a lasergun and you try to get as many points as you can from shooting at the little targets. Apparently I don't suck as much as I thought, yay, because I was beating my mom for most of it. And the last one we went on, the one I can't think of, was redone... It used to be an indoor, dark rollercoaster with stars everywhere, and it still is, but so much more modern and fun. Along with stars there are planets now, and the stars are prettier, and the ride is more fun and upside-down-y, and you start off like a rocket and get shot up a tube. Lol. It was sooo fun.

Monday
Well, we flew home. Whooo.

Have fun reading this...

PS: I managed to find a Starbucks there, and had my first Caramel Frap in two months!! I loved it, it was, so home-y =D

1 comment:

Christopher said...

You repeated yourself in there, I think. Ah well.

Looks like fun, though. Why in the world would you go to Disneyland? I mean, there's two of them in the U.S. already. There's too much in Paris to want to go to Disneyland, I'd think.

Ah well, ♥ your alien picture!