Monday, November 26, 2007

Oh Snap.

I don't even know why the title is Oh Snap. But that's what it is.

So, before we even get started, I am not copying Sarah with anything I say. It just so happens that our magically linked mentalities decided that we need to get lives at the very same time. So that's what happened.

Yeah, we're both getting lives. We're trying to become happy, productive, non-life-wasting people. So far I think we're doing very well. For instance, I haven't been biting my nails! ...On one hand! The other hand's nails look terrible, but oh well. At least most of my hangnails are gone. And I have become almost intolerant of most cussing, unless it really isn't that bad and is somewhere like, oh, say, the comments on Youtube. I just really can't stand Avalon and Reilly cussing and stuff like that. Also, today I wore a shirt that I have owned for MONTHS and never worn before. Well, I came to the conclusion that I'm most likely not wearing it again. First of all, gray and black do nothing for my yellow skin tone. And second of all, horizontal stripes. That is all I have to say.

Today was grand and not wasted, because I explored! I did go over a lot of land I've already been to once, but I also went places I've never been. I took manymanymany pictures that I might post sometime. Also, I was frozen by the time I got back, but who cares? Running up stairs and taking artistic, pretty pictures and seeing new places are good for the soul.

Things I Miss: (Because I'm being specific, this may be long)
  • Sarah
  • Chandler
  • Avalon
  • Keagan
  • Reilly
  • Woody
  • My House
  • Going on long walks at night, barefooted, with my iPod, and dancing around while I walk, and then swinging
  • My wonderful bed on the floor
  • My room in general
  • 93.3
  • Guitar Hero!!
  • Driving, especially through Longmont
  • My mom's car
  • Taking showers for basically as long as I want
  • Regular school
  • Flatirons
  • Twin Peaks
  • Vitamin Water
  • Normal Dr Pepper
  • Normal white bread
  • Fruit snacks (send some over Sarah!!)

Yeah. I miss my old life. However, I love it here. I have no idea what I prefer at the point, going home or staying here, and at what point in time. I really love both ideas.

Well, I'm going to Germany this weekend, and also Belgium and the Netherlands. Ladies and gentlemen, that is three, I repeat THREE, more countries to mark off my to-do list for life. That is just about awesome.

Saturday, November 17, 2007

The Most Intersting Babysitting Job Ever

So you know those children in the pictures? Addie and Henry? I babysat them last night, which certainly isn't a rare event. But it's sad, because they're leaving for home on Monday. Ah well, I'm sure we can find another family to go out to dinner with and another source for money.

Anyway, I got to the apartment at about 5:05, 5 minutes late but it doesn't matter because our families are the best of friends (or something along those lines...). Their mom went and bought pizza with us and took Addie with her, so I just played animals (he is freaking obsessed with little plastic animals) with shirtless Henry for about 20 minutes. After the parents left, we ate some vergetable pizza of the Swedish sort, and Addie started to flip out. Mind you, this is an unusual event. She normally is very happy that I'm babysitting her. Oh well... I stuck Boz in the portable DVD player and she was good to go.


After Boz ended, Henry decided it was time for Scooby Dooby Doo (lol), of which I've watched extensive amounts since we've gotten here. The kid loves Scooby and animals, and also Cars. Needless to say, it was great fun for Henry, Addie, Emily (she was there, just because), and I to watch Scooby Doo on a portable DVD player because I couldn't figure out how to get it to play on the tv. Oh well.


The most eventful bit of this was Addie falling asleep on my shoulder. It was so cute! She slept there for approximately 20 minutes... And of course I got pictures, being me, but they will not upload, so I suppose I'll just email them. Yeah, she slept on my shoulder (snoring in a cute small-child fashion) for a while, until she woke up. Shortly after realizing what was going on, with the air of sleepiness from just having woken up, she flipped out. Like, really really freaked out. She was just absolutely screaming and crying and whatnot, and after deciding that Emily and I weren't exactly helpful enough, went and cried to Henry, who put his hands over his ears and was like "WHAT? WHAT?" and obviously that fixed everything -_-. Her cries of "Mommy" were pretty sad, especially at the point when she was sobbing too hard to get out more than the first syllable.


The one thing I could figure out to do was hold her up to the window and watch for her parents, but if I took her away, she would freak again. Obviously I preferred a more lasting effect so I called my mom, like I was told to do if she flipped. And that sort of helped, because she said that she could have another treat (i.e. candy, ice cream) if that would help. She eventually decided it was ok to leave the window, so I took her over to the freezer and let her pick what she wanted, and then gave her some vanilla ice cream. Lol, while I was scooping her some, I looked down at her, and her mouth was open about as wide as it would go, and she was showing me a dry noodle that she found on the ground... Her mouth was open so so wide, and she looked so freaking happy! It was utterly startling and hilarious.

Yeah, it actually wasn't that interesting unless you were there. But, man, I was there until midnight. Midnight! Oh well, it was fun.

Thursday, November 15, 2007

I Feel Disgusting =P

Ahh I feel so gross. That's becase, for no apparent reason, I ate a bag of candy. Yes, I was craving sugar today, but... a bag of candy?? And when I was obvoiusly full, I didn't stop. And now, I would rather like to puke.

Let's see... What did I do today? Well, I was home alone most of the day, and hung around doing school and random crap on the computer. Shocking. After a while I got restless and went out to the balcony, where I discovered a really pretty pink sunset. On a whim, I grabbed my coat, boots, and camera, and ran outside. After I realized that there was no way I'd find a buildingless area to take pictures, I walked down a street that I'd never been down and found a really pretty path which was in the middle of some sort of forest. It was especially pretty because of the snow everywhere.

Oh, hey. I might get to go to Germany in December. =D

Saturday, November 10, 2007

Paris, Pronounced Pear-ee

I suppose I should write a giant, giant post discussing every day of my trip to Paris. Betcha just can't wait.

Thursday
We woke up at 3 am, 3 FREAKING AM, and then slept on a plane on the way to Paris. When we got there, we ate at a little restaraunt and I got a free yo-yo which served as addictive entertainment throughout the trip. After that, we went to our hotel.

Our hotel room was exactly what should come to mind when you imagine a Parisian hotel room. It was so cool! It had 3 beds, one of which was a cot for Emily, and that bumpy-type wallpaper with fancy Victorian designs in pastels. The bathroom had this crazy bathtub that had a shower head just on it, so we had to sit in the tub and spray ourselves with the shower hose. We took shaths. It was not fun. But the coolest part was what lay outside the windows. You had to climb over the beds, then out the windows, and to get on this awesome fenced ledge thing, to look out at a 7-story-high view of Paris. It was so pretty, because there were a billion rooftops, and off to the left you could see the top of the Eiffel Tower! It was so pretty!

After taking a rather long nap, we went on a boat tour. It was freezing, but we saw the lovely Eiffel Tower, the Louvre, and Notre Dame, not to mention the bottom of around 8 bridges. Everytime we went under a bridge, everyone started, like, howling. It was very bizarre.


Friday
The first truly important thing that we did was go to some catycombs. It was SO COOL because you walked down this GIANT thing of spiraly stairs, then walked in an extensively long underground tunnel. Then basically you entered the hall of bones, and walked in some more extensively long underground tunnels, except these had walls of bones and skulls. There were MILLIONS of them, literally! Apparently each wall of neatly stacked human bones went back 20 feet... That's quite a few historical Parisian people.

After that, we went to Musee De O'rsay. I know I put the accent mark in the wrong place and didn't accent an e in Musee, but I don't care. There were all these paintings that were completely famous, a lot of which I learned about just last year. There was a ton of Van Gogh, Edward Degas, etc. It was just awesome to see all the paintings I'd seen printed in textbooks and hanging on Ms. Hensil's chalkboards so many times.

Then, because we were all weak with hunger, I ate the prettiest tuna sandwich I've ever seen. Then we went to Notre Dame, which was darn gorgeous. We went in while there was a service going on, so there was some pretty choir singing, and candles everywhere. Also it was just a really pretty building.

Ok, the rest of Friday was just crepes and pocket watches, so screw that.



Saturday
First and foremost was the trip to the Musee de Louvre. We spent quite a few hours there. It was aboslutely giant, and most of it didn't even matter... The only really cool part was seeing the Mona Lisa. It was under super-high security; you could only get about 5 feet away from it, and even then it was behind glass, and had some security guards. We thought taking pictures would be illegal, but indeed it was not.

Then, we went to this really cool area and went on a ferris wheel. It was really tall... Emily and I sat in a car-ish thing with a very Parisian woman. I don't know what it was about her... her lipstick, her coat, her curly hair... but something about her made her very French. She spoke good English, though, because she used the phrase "came to a halt", and was fun to sit with.

I'm not positive, but I think the next place we went was the Eiffel Tower. I might have skipped something, but I don't really care.

The elevator ride up the Eiffel Tower was really freaky. We stood by the windows and watched on the way down, and I was honestly pretty scared. I was reassured by the hooks that catch the elevator if it happens to break, though. The view was pretty much insane. We could see pretty much every notable building, like Notre Dame and the Louvre. It was also pretty freezing up there. And, this is probably the weirdest thing I'll ever call cool in my life, but people from all over the world signed the door of the stall in the bathroom up there! It was awesome!
At about eleven o'clock, we got on a train to Disneyland. We were all exhausted by the time we finally got there, but I was literally jumping for joy. I LOVE Disneyland. It's almost impossible to be sad there. And we got to stay at this cute pirate hotel with a seperate room with a tv and bunk beds for Emily and I. It was awesome.

Sunday
Disneyland day! Yay! First we went to the MGM Studios-like park, which had all of the popular rides from MGM Studios in Disney World. My mom and I were utterly excited for the world's greatest ride, the Tower of Terror (google it) which we saw poking up above everything else. We were SO HAPPY that they had it. As we were walking over, I said "it's probably going to closed or something". And, with our awesome luck, indeed it was. It wasn't even fully built yet. Dude, we were sad.

So, we went on the next-best thing. It's called Rock n' Rollercoaster and it's this REALLY FUN dark rollercoaster that has Aerosmith playing the whole time. It's AWESOME.

After doing some more less important stuff there, we went to the Magic Kingdom, which too was a collection of the more popular Magic Kingdom rides. We had only 3 hours there, so we had to pick the best; we chose the Haunted Mansion (there called the Phantom Manor), Pirates of the Carribean, Buzz Lightyear, and... I can't think of the name. The Haunted Mansion was awesome in it's creepy way, but it was way different than the American version. The type of "silly scariness" was a lot more European... skeletons and stuff everywhere instead of ghosts and whatnot. It was sad that it wasn't the original that I've learned to love, but at at least my favorite room, the one with all the holograms dancing and eating, was the same. POTC was basically exactly the same as the American version, because apparently they haven't redone it to match the movie yet. It was funny, though, because all the pirates spoke French XD. Buzz Lightyear, despite what you make assume, is one of the most fun rides in the world. It's that shooting-type ride, where you have a lasergun and you try to get as many points as you can from shooting at the little targets. Apparently I don't suck as much as I thought, yay, because I was beating my mom for most of it. And the last one we went on, the one I can't think of, was redone... It used to be an indoor, dark rollercoaster with stars everywhere, and it still is, but so much more modern and fun. Along with stars there are planets now, and the stars are prettier, and the ride is more fun and upside-down-y, and you start off like a rocket and get shot up a tube. Lol. It was sooo fun.

Monday
Well, we flew home. Whooo.

Have fun reading this...

PS: I managed to find a Starbucks there, and had my first Caramel Frap in two months!! I loved it, it was, so home-y =D

Thursday, November 1, 2007

Hooray! =D

Today was a pretty awesome day. ^^

My mom and I (and also kind of Emily) went on sort of a shopping spree at this really awesome store, Lagerhaus, which is this freaking cool store that pretty much sells random crap, like shower curtains and stationary. -goes to get shopping bag- Let's see... I purchased Sarah, Avalon, and Reilly's Christmas presents ;), a cooly frame with CATS (inside the letters there are kitties, fishbones, and "mjuaa," which, when pronounced in Swedish, sounds like "meow" ^^), and a candle that smells really freaking delicious, in a cool skull-y case. My mom and I pretty much concluded that random crap, particularly the purchasing of random crap, makes us really happy.

We also ate lunch at the cafeteria of my dad's work. Apparently it's some tradition in Sweden to eat pea soup and pancakes every Thursday, and his work is one of the places to keep that tradition alive. The pea soup was tasty, but Swedish pancakes are kind of nasty. Ha, tasty and nasty almost rhyme.

I would gladly post pictures, but I was observant enough to put my camera through the washer. Who does that?? How do you not notice a freaking DIGITAL CAMERA being put into the washer??